Lunar Girls

Today is #InternationalWomensDay, so I thought I’d take a moment to talk about one of my favorite series: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. Why did I pick this series to talk about today? There’s four leading ladies in these books, and each of them show such strength in so many ways.

Image credit: @booksRgood4u (Tumblr)

From left to right: Winter, Cinder, Scarlet, Cress

These girls couldn’t be more different, in terms of background, personality, strength. Together, they make a formidable team. They don’t put each other down for their differences, instead they embrace them.

What I’m about to say next isn’t anything new, if you look through any posts about the series, you’ll find many that share these points, and my gratitude goes to the ones who have made these lists before me – you made my task so much easier and I thank you for the inspiration!

Here’s a little overview of the characters, and what they bring to the series:

Cinder: lives for practicality – in wardrobe and in interactions. She’s good at what she does as a mechanic, and figures that pretty things aren’t in her future because she’ll probably get grease on them. That doesn’t mean she isn’t caring – that is her strength as a leader, she cares very deeply, and would never ask another to do something she wouldn’t do herself.

Scarlet: a juxtaposition of tradition and rebellion, Scarlet loves her farm, and cooking. However, she won’t accept the status quo without a good reason, and she’ll fiercely argue or defend her position, and her friends. But once the threat is gone, she’s back to being a mother hen, making sure everyone is well taken care of.

Cress: perhaps the most quiet in the group, Cress is a dreamer and a computer genius. She uses her imagination to give her strength, such as imagining herself brave even when she is shaking in her shoes. She is quick to come up with clever solutions to problems, and will put her own safety on the line to protect the ones she loves.

Winter: you don’t want Winter to be quiet: she’s probably scheming, and creating the most harebrained ideas – that actually work! Winter suffers from hallucinations, but they never once blind her from her loving personality- she believes the best in everyone, not in a naive way, instead, to bring out the good that is deep inside everyone.

Of course there’s more I could say, but I will leave it with this: I look forward to exploring more about these girls through the rest of March, and getting to tie them in with some of my other favorite series. So for today, it’s not goodbye, it’s just see you later.

6 thoughts on “Lunar Girls

  1. It’s great you were able to make a post for InternationalWomensDay, Bookworm. I was planning to write up a little something too, especially because MWT was reblogging so many posts related to it, but I didn’t have time. This post reminded me of how Lunar Chronicles has such an awesome representation of female characters.

    Like

    • It was a last minute thing – and actually reminded me of a whole bunch of points I wanted to make. So, hopefully I’ll be expanding this a bit, and pointing out some of my other favorite female characters (and maybe tie in more series that will be good recs!)

      Like

  2. I’ve honestly never heard of this series, but since you said it was your favourite, I checked it out! It looks like a great series that I will have to put on my TBR list. These seem to be such cool and interesting characters 🙂 Thanks for sharing ❤

    Jo-Ann

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment